







Rudolph Jones Student Center

Fall 2008 Fact Sheet

Fayetteville State University is a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina. The primary mission of the university is to provide quality education to its students through a basic liberal-arts foundation, specialized professional training, and specific graduate programs. Fayetteville State University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award baccalaureate, masters, and doctorate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30022-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Fayetteville State University. In addition, individual university departments, degree programs, and service functions hold memberships and accreditations with appropriate professional organizations. Dr. James A. Anderson began his duties as Chancellor of the state's second-oldest public institution on June 9, 2008.

Academic Offerings

- Bachelor's degrees in 43 areas.
- Master's degrees in 23 areas.
- 1 doctoral degree in educational leadership.

Students and Applicants: Fall 2008

Total Enrollment	<u>Count</u>	% Enrolled
 Headcount total 	6,217	100
 Undergraduate total 	5,602	90
 Female 	4,263	69
• > 24 years of age	2,583	41
 In-state residents 	5,920	95
• White	1,031	22
• Black	4,459	72
 Hispanic 	266	4
 Commuter 	4,715	76



First-Time Freshmen	Ap	plied	Acc	cepted	En	rolled
	Count	% Applied	Count 9	% Applied	Count 9	% Accepted
 Headcount total 	2,361	100	1,524	64	582	38
 Female 	1,522	64	990	65	360	36
• Male	839	35	534	64	222	42
<20 years of age	2,295	97	1,501	65	569	38
 In-state residents 	1,858	79	1,304	70	537	41
• White	116	5	90	78	32	35
• Black	1,988	84	1,257	63	494	39
 Hispanic 	63	3	51	81	17	33
• <1000 average SAT	1,860	79	1,218	65	493	40
• HS GPA 2.01-3.00	1,149	49	734	64	337	46

Degrees Conferred December 2007 & May 2008	Count	% Conferred
 Total degrees conferred 	947	100
 Conferred in May 2008 	549	58
 In-state residents 	911	96
 Baccalaureate 	774	82
 Master 	160	17
 Doctorate 	13	1

- Of the 2007-08 graduates, the three most popular undergraduate majors were Criminal Justice (99), Business Administration (99), and Psychology (92).
- Of 23 graduate programs, the top three were Education (54), Social Work (28), and School Administration (20).

FACULTY AND STAFF

- 255 full-time teaching faculty (using CUPA- HR criteria) are employed as of October 1, 2008.
- 80% of full-time faculty members hold doctoral or first professional degrees.
- The average salary of a full-time faculty member is \$68,892 for men and \$68,132 for women.
- Student-to-faculty ratio is approximately 16 to 1.

Board of Trustees

Dr. Shirish D. Devasthali Mrs. Gloria A. Moore-Carter, Chair Ms. Juanita Pilgrim, Vice Chair Mr. Julius A. Fulmore, Jr.- Emeritus Ms. Sylvia Ray, Secretary Dr. John R. Griffin, Jr. Suzetta M. Perkins, Staff liaison/Assistant Secretary Dr. Jack V. Hill- Emeritus Ms. Linda Lee Allan Mr. James Jefferson (Ex Officio-SGA 2008-2009) Dr. Lucy Vidal-Barreto Mr. Terrence Murchison Mr. John B. Brown, Jr. Mr. James M. Paige- Emeritus Dr. W. T. Brown-Emeritus Dr. Ruth Dial Woods Mr. Felton J. Capel-Emeritus Mr. Roosevelt Wright

Administrative Officers

Mr. Jerry C. Dean

James A. Anderson, B.A., Ph.D.

Chancellor

Thomas Conway, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff

Jon Young, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.

Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Janice Haynie, B.A., Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Arasu "Nick" Ganesan, B.A., M.B.A.

Vice Chancellor for Inform. Tech. & Telecom Services

Wendy Jones, B.A.

Vice Chancellor for Development and University Relations

Robert Botley, B.A.

Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance

Wanda D. Jenkins, B.B.A., M.B.A., J.D.

Chief Compliance Officer and General Counsel

David E. Barlow, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.

Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Leontye L. Lewis, B.S., M.Ed., Ed.D.

Dean, School of Education

LaDelle Olion, B.S., Ph.D.

Dean of Graduate School

Assad Tavakoli, B.S., M.S., M.B.A., Ph.D.

Dean, School of Business and Economics



Fayetteville State University
1200 Murchison Road
Fayetteville, North Carolina 28301-4298
910.672.1111

www.uncfsu.edu

Fayetteville State University is a member institution of The University of North Carolina, which is committed to equality of educational opportunity and does not discriminate against applicants, students, or employees based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.